Sonder.

I breathe in the view around me-
I stand on the mountaintop, watching the lights twinkle under the darkening sky.

image

I feel the pulse of life-

The city buzzes with energy, those who slogged through the day to live for the night. The yellow beams of cars dance, luminous advertisements, brightness emanating through windows, all these pretty lights percolate through treetops, shadows between brightly lit streets.

Its a vibrant, electric atmosphere making you feel a part of their nonchalant, incessant hustle and bustle. Millions of tiny lives unfold before me.

I am alive-

Enough to feel the soft wind that blows across the Earth caressing each of our faces, touching our lives as it passes us by in its never ending ardour.

I close my eyes and feel it make its way about me.

I hear the wind carrying their whispers- they are speaking of soft gasps of joy and bewonderment, laughter, memories and excitement. Magic.

I smile.

I breathe in once again; only fuller. It is exhilarating to be filled up to the brim with life. I stand a little bit taller, a little more complete.

I open my eyes.
I am more.
I am content.

________________________________________
And I miss you when you’re not around,
I’m getting ready to leave the ground,

Oh you look so beautiful tonight,
In the city of blinding lights.
________________________________________
I do not own the rights to the image.

35 thoughts on “Sonder.

Add yours

      1. Oh cool πŸ™‚ You know I use to see same view when I watched Ranikhet (Uttrakhand) from college’s rooftop πŸ™‚ It was mesmerizing πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, I was going to ask you which place was that (referring to the photograph), to have evoked such a feeling of satisfaction… And all because of the way you described the feeling so beautifully. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This makes me crave for nature again. Makes me want to just run away once more – to the mountains, the beaches, the valleys, the crooks and the nannies of the earth and just sit back and soak it all in – all that life has to offer.

    Needless to say, I found this writing beautiful as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

