Legacy.

Thousands have lived and dreamed.
Thousands of faceless people have died and been forgotten.

I fear becoming a part of them. I fear being forgotten.

What have I done in my Life that I will be remembered by the rest of the world? Nothing, it seems.

Maybe I will be remembered, by a few. But just a few.

How many people have I met, will meet, and know? I don’t know. Will I make an impact on their lives? All the lives I’ve touched, all the lives I will, the people who’s fate has been intertwined with mine, what about them?

Of the seven Billion humans on Earth, I am just one, an insignificant speck of dust in a desert. A single star amongst the millions in the galaxy.

I’m not the only one taking part in the never ending race of immortalising ourselves.

But what we all do, whatever we work for, will one day come to naught. The bank account whose balance increases every payday? You’ll never need so much money, it’ll pass on. The thoughts, principles, and wisdom you develop will die along with your mind.

Because when you’re old and sitting in a rocking chair, dependent on others for helping you get through your daily tasks, you’ll become a liability, bitter and misunderstood.

Your mind and body, which developed very quick in your younger years, will, in the same fashion, deteriorate. You will be forgotten, just another soul existing from Now, until your funeral.

I am afraid of this. I am afraid of becoming what I see many others have. Of losing touch with reality and being bitter- over a hundred and one things failed to be achieved in life.

The vacations you never took, the house you never bought, the endless time you spent in office hours, hoping to have a happy retirement but forgetting your family’s need of you. Not meeting your friends enough. Not asking a girl out. Letting things off till tomorrow. Not taking chances. Of never understanding the bond within your soul, and the fear of uncertainty that resides in your mind.


Ask yourself this: What have you done today that will matter 20, 25 Years from now?

Everything you are doing right now, and everything you will, is temperory. We all search for momentary happiness, hedonistic as we are.

One day, I’ll be dust, a burning corpse, known by many, mourned by few, and understood by none.

I have a dream, that once, I’ll strip naked my soul and the world will, in an epiphany, understand me, who I am, and who I want to be. And they will remember me.

To me, I’m an enigma. I’m an incredibly complex array of emotion and thought, stitched together by all I have perceived and felt, by all I’ve been through.

Yet I am a tiny lost soul, amongst a sea of a thousand lonely wanderers.

________________________________________
We were Meant to Live for so much more,
Have we lost ourselves?
Somewhere we live Inside,
Somewhere we live Inside.

________________________________________

44 thoughts on “Legacy.

Add yours

  1. Hey, have you read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green yet? You definitely must read it in case you haven’t. Download a PDF if you don’t get a hard copy but read it. It’ll change your outlook towards life completely.

    Just like you, the male protagonist of the novel, Augustus Waters’ biggest fear was oblivion. Hazel Grace Lancaster’s reply to him:

    “There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten, and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”

    Hazel Grace Lancaster, The Fault in Our Stars

    Hope this helps you, dear. Life is too short to worry over trifles. Smile and get dimples πŸ˜€

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I have, I liked their dialogues but found the book a bit too fantastical, overall.
      That’s a pretty deep quote, I didn’t remember this very well.
      No, I do not worry over trifles like this, I just wrote it as a philosophical essay. πŸ™‚
      Thank You.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Udit, I sometimes ask the same questions and then I remind myself that passively not doing my thing is not helping either. So even if and when I do not know what to expect I do my thing.

    According a Kafka’s “Die Verwandlung” you could also end up like a giant cockroach. To quote Monty Python “find the fish.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What will come, will come. And we’ll have to meet it when it does.
      I didn’t really get the last part, perhaps Google is the answer, I’ve only watched a small portion of Monty Python.

      Like

    1. Thank You. πŸ™‚
      I do Appreciate this quite a bit, though to clarify, I didn’t write this to reflect my point of view but I do see now that it didn’t come out that way.
      Also, I haven’t been able to view your blog, been trying for some times, this redirects me to an empty one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I HAVE THOUGHT ABOUT THIS SAME EXACT THING SO MANY TIMES, I HAVE LOST COUNT.
    Also, good work as always. You make me wonder what exactly it is that you think about.
    I think that is a good thing? I don’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, my recent posts have been related to the idea behind ‘Paper Towns’ but I think Margo was a bit too unrelatable. I abandoned the book, got bored out by the storyline, but I lived the idea above, even though you have just reminded me of the similarity here.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, Margo was unrelatable, wasn’t she? Lots of people I know who have read the book seem to be in love with her for some reason, but I didn’t like her so very much.
        I liked Alaska in Finding Alaska, but not Margo.
        That reminds me of a joke. Would you like to hear it?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Looking for Alaska was okay, plausible. I somehow figured out why she went away that night quickly, which ruined the second half of the book for me, it was boring anyhow.
        I didn’t like the character much, either.
        Sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. So, this chick is reading Finding Alaska, and her dad says, “I don’t want to spoil anything, but it’s just a little left of Canada.”
        Hahahaha!
        Wow, you’re smart. I don’t really figure out stuff. I do, sometimes, but not often.

        Like

      5. You’re mean. There’s nothing you can do to change that.
        Even I’m mean. I’m very mean.
        THAT DOESN’T MEAN YOU’LL SEND ME CREEPY SMILEYS OKAY I HAVE MATH ON TUESDAY.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is probably the fifth time that I’m reading you blogs again and again. I have started relating to your blogs to the point where I feel like taking screenshots of your blog and keeping them with me forever. Your writing fascinates me. Please don’t ever stop writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your amazing thoughts are dressed up in a language which instantly hold attention and mesmerize.
    Utopia is a fantasy as is the thought of being immortal in memory of mankind.
    When Man can forget God, what are we in the reckoning?
    If thinking of you can warm up someone ‘s heart ; thats the best legacy one could ever leave.

    Like

    1. Thank You. πŸ™‚
      I love the last line, it’s true that a man’s value can only be measured by the impact he had on other people’s lives, and not how much he achieved.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

